Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
3,554 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm just about set to go with something in the 2XXX series SCUT's (most probably 2720) and now I'm wondering which mower setup would be best/easiest/most flexible for 3.5 acres of gently sloping grassland with few trees?

I've been looking at all the JD belly mowers and Frontier "Grooming Mowers" with the idea that something in the neighborhood of 70" would fit my bill. I'm leaning towards a 3pt grooming mower because I won't have as much trouble disconnecting it for FEL/BH use.

I've got a 48C on the GX335 for "close in work" and leaf duty, so I need some tips on buying AND using a grooming mower. I've never used a trailing or 3pt type mower before, so all ideas are welcome!

·
Administrator
18,463 Posts
RFM's are great in wide open areas, not so great around obstacles IMHO. Since they are attached to the tractor via the 3PH they will swing out quite a bit when you turn. A 2520/2720 will have no trouble running a 72" RFM.

·
Registered
2,044 Posts