Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to tractors and I am curious what is the many uses for a front receiver hitch. For example the Heavy Hitch Front Receiver Hitch. https://heavyhitch.com/product/front-receiver-hitch-for-1-series-john-deere-1000-series-tractors/

The uses that I know of so far:
1. Trailer Hitch Ball for moving trailers around
2. Attachment for a winch
3. Heavy Hitch weight bracket. https://heavyhitch.com/product/8-suitcase-weight-bracket-2-inch-receiver-hitch/

I am curious of other attachment or uses you have used for the front receiver hitch?
Do you find the front receiver hitch very useful?

·
Registered
3,724 Posts
I use mine primarily for moving my trailer if it's loaded with dirt or mulch. Mine is mounted on my fork frame on the FEL. I wouldn't use it for a winch mount as that could put some strain on the FEL frame that might damage it.

I know some guys have a "trash can mover" that fits in a receiver. My driveway is only 350' long - something like that is for the guys with the 1/2 mile long driveways.

I've seen guys mount a "boom pole" in a front receiver. Again, that's one that's mounted on a FEL.

·
Premium Member
10,913 Posts
I have a 2-inch receiver on my loader bucket. I attach a Wilton ATV vise to mine and use it to hold my mower blades while I clean and sharpen them. I've also used the vise for welding and cutting lumber.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
7,888 Posts
I am new to tractors and I am curious what is the many uses for a front receiver hitch. For example the Heavy Hitch Front Receiver Hitch. https://heavyhitch.com/product/front-receiver-hitch-for-1-series-john-deere-1000-series-tractors/

The uses that I know of so far:
1. Trailer Hitch Ball for moving trailers around
2. Attachment for a winch
3. Heavy Hitch weight bracket. https://heavyhitch.com/product/8-suitcase-weight-bracket-2-inch-receiver-hitch/