Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How does the JD Frontier brand implements compare to other brands like, land pride or king kutter. Are they as good? Built as well? Looking at getting a Land plane for the driveway maintance. Also trying to decide on either a MMM or grooming mower.

·
Administrator
18,546 Posts
First, understand that Frontier does not "make" anything-it's just a brand name, It's all made by other top of the line companies like Woods, Land Pride, Bush Hog. In fact, sometimes the included instructions are still from the "other" company. The King Kutter stuff is usually a step below the other brands, built a little lighter and the paint is poor, but for occasional home owner use its just fine.

MMM vs. RFM has a lot to with terrain and obstacles. Describe your property a little please?

·
Registered
2,044 Posts
I'm no expert on attachments, and I do like anything Deere green. I also admit to being chea..., I mean frugal. But anything I have seen Deere put their name on or word behind has been top quality. Even looking at the used equipment market for attachments, a rusty old Deere brand is generally in much more usable condition than a rusty old off-brand. I have no idea how old my moldboard plow is (probably 40 years), but even after sitting outside its whole life, it looks better built and like it will last longer than a new plow from TSC. Same with tillers, the Deere tillers look to be one step above the aftermarket ones I have seen around.

Reactions: arlen

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #4

MMM vs. RFM has a lot to with terrain and obstacles. Describe your property a little please?
I have 2.3 acres in arizona. It is a mixture of dirt, grass, and weeds. I only have 1 tree and half dozen cacti to mow around. I only have to mow 1-2 a month depending on rain fall. nwcorner.jpg

·
Registered
3,781 Posts