Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

I've posted here a few times with random questions but I am still quite new to small engine machines. My John Deere LA115 has a choke lever and I wanted to ask if it was normal that, when on warm/hot days, I don't need to push the lever all the way up (which I believe is closed?). I know as the engine warms up, you have to open the choke and I wanted to ask if it was normal that when the weather is warm that the choke doesn't have to be all the way closed to start.

My snowblower seems similar, it has a dial for the choke and I find that lately when I go to test it out (I periodically run it to make sure it works even in the summer), I need the choke mostly open for it to start.

·
Registered
3,839 Posts
Once it's warm it shouldn't need choke to start,however depending on the fuel system you may need to choke to prime the fuel system to start.

·
Registered
1,724 Posts
Some engines will require choke and some won't even to start when warm/ hot. Easy test when warm... Try to start.. If it doesn't start right away.. Keep cranking and choke. Should fire up.. Then lever down to take off choke.
Due to fluctuations in your gas and jetting of carb, just find a way that works for you. There is no steadfast rule. It's whatever she likes to light off and and run. One steadfast rule is though.. Once it starts, get off the choke.

Sent from my LGL52VL using Tapatalk

·
Registered
3,228 Posts
Some engines will require choke and some won't even to start when warm/ hot. Easy test when warm... Try to start.. If it doesn't start right away.. Keep cranking and choke. Should fire up.. Then lever down to take off choke.
Due to fluctuations in your gas and jetting of carb, just find a way that works for you. There is no steadfast rule. It's whatever she likes to light off and and run. One steadfast rule is though.. Once it starts, get off the choke.

Sent from my LGL52VL using Tapatalk