Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
265 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone make their own maple syrup? I just bought a kit and tapped a few trees this past weekend. First timer here and we'll see how it goes.

·
Super Moderator
4,900 Posts
I tapped about 30 trees a week ago. This is my first year trying so I'm kind of winging it. :laugh:

·
Registered
21,537 Posts
We did it for many years at our previous home. A lot of work but worth it - good project for this time of year since there isn't much else to do outside.

Still amazing how many gallons you need to cook down to get a quart of syrup. I had set up an old large double burner propane type cook top. Tried it with a wood fire but couldn't regulate the temperature enough. Days and days of cooking down.

Some years there was a lot of snow on the ground when we tapped. Then looking at the trees in the summer it was kind of amazing - the tap holes in the trees were so high you couldn't reach them from the ground as we were standing on 3'+ of snow when we tapped.

I always think about this around this time of year. With the weather like it is this year it wouldn't be a good year for a sap run. Need those cold crisp nights and warm days with crisp clear skies for it to run properly.

·
Registered
265 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
We'll see how it goes. Right now I've got three taps running, more arriving this week, and I have maybe two gallons of sap since Saturday afternoon. I plan to boil down on Saturday with a wood fire to start, since I don't have a propane burner yet. Any advice otherwise?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
21,537 Posts
We'll see how it goes. Right now I've got three taps running, more arriving this week, and I have maybe two gallons of sap since Saturday afternoon. I plan to boil down on Saturday with a wood fire to start, since I don't have a propane burner yet. Any advice otherwise?
2 gallons? Do you know that the average ratio of the cook down is 40:1?