Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 93 Posts

·
Corndog Hater
11,257 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
etcallhome's thread about smoke at startup was very timely. I have been having an issue with gray/blue smoke at startup. My normal startup (the last 3 years and 215+/- hrs.) has been a small puff of black smoke and pretty smooth idling, even in winter. Recently I have copious amounts gray/blue smoke and much more rough/stumbling idling at startup. This lasts upwards of a minute, then all is totally fine and normal. I have tried cycling the glow plugs twice. I also normally start at idle, but have tried 1/4 to 1/2 throttle with no difference. If I slightly bump up the throttle after starting, things even out a little quicker, but not much. I am no diesel mechanic, so I thought I would check here before sending it off to the dealer.

Just some other info: I changed the oil/filter, all new fuel filters and air filters at 200 hrs. Now showing 230ish. This affliction started around 215. I have also never used any sort of fuel additive. Within this time frame, I have also bought fuel from a couple different stations. As always, thanks for the help!

I took a video, hopefully it will work!

[video] [/video]

·
Corndog Hater
11,257 Posts
Discussion Starter #2

·
Registered
446 Posts
That can be a few things. After reading your post and watching the video I have a few thoughts. Have you checked your oil and radiator water levels? Are they where they should be? White smoke usually indicates water getting in your oil such as a head gasket leak. I doubt this is your issue, but a compression test would rule it out.

Usually the symptoms you mention and from what your video shows implies you are burning oil, probably from excessive wear in your valve guides or valve seals. Although, if your guides or seals were bad enough it should smoke a little any time it is running, especially if you rev the engine you should notice a puff.