Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,547 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have 2 planter beds in the front of my house, and the wife wants some kind of ivy or similar ground cover in them. She doesn’t like the topsoil look, and doesn’t want to continuously weed them. I know there are plants that can have a low ground cover, and not deprive the shrubs but I’m not a landscape pro. Any suggestions?

F83858A9-0D4A-4BBF-9049-3C534BF36127.jpeg 6526DAB1-FE27-4723-96D0-7AA5FBBF2103.jpeg

·
Registered
610 Posts
Wandering jew or dwarf confederate jasmine assuming they are compatible with your climate.

·
Registered
2,756 Posts

·
Registered
3,687 Posts
I have used periwinkle for a couple decades,,

It is a hardy plant,, if a weed pops up in it, I can spray the weed with a little Roundup,
and the over-spray will not hurt the periwinkle,,

Do not set a garden hose on periwinkle,, in 6 months, the hose will be lost forever!! :laugh:

To propagate it, I scoop out an area of periwinkle several inches deep with the front end loader,,
That removed dirt is replaced with regular dirt, and in 6 months (one season) of growing, the area looks like it was never touched.

The removed periwinkle can be planted in 4X4 inch clumps, one to three feet or so apart,,
After a season or two, the new area will be covered.
How long it takes to fill in depends on light and water,,

·
Premium Member
2,065 Posts
Landscape fabric and river rock.

Good luck on keeping weeds out. I think this is almost impossible. I cover my river rock and mulch areas in the spring with Preen and go over them routinely throughout the summer. This seems to help.

Even in the river rock, which has landscape fabric under the rock, weeds will grow on top of the fabric. Albeit, they are easy to pull as they are on top of the week block but they still grow.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,547 Posts
Discussion Starter #7