Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2,480 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It's not unique to the 460 loader so I'm putting this here in General.

Why is bale weight limited to 700lbs vs the loader capability of 2300lbs? Is it simply because of the spring in a hay spear that would allow a bale to bounce? So a heavier bale would be ok on a set of forks?

·
Registered
4,080 Posts
I have no personal experience, but it seems that a good portion of a bale's weight would be positioned quite a ways in front of the loader's pins and therefore reduce the spec'ed lifting capacity of the loader. If that's the case, the same would hold true whether using a spear or forks.

·
Registered
4,977 Posts
I have no personal experience, but it seems that a good portion of a bale's weight would be positioned quite a ways in front of the loader's pins and therefore reduce the spec'ed lifting capacity of the loader. If that's the case, the same would hold true whether using a spear or forks.
I think you nailed it. The lift capacity of the loader is usually measured at two points, one is the bucket pivot point and the other is roughly the front edge of the bucket, say 18" from the pivot point. A bale may stick out from the spear 6' which puts the CG of the bale 3' from the pivot, plus the inherent bouncing when moving something with that much leverage.

There's also an issue with side pressure when making a turn at any speed with a bale. The combination of weight and leverage can generate a lot of side torque. We use rear forks for moving bales any distance and I can tell you even with a bale on the rear it's a significant issue if you don't slow down before making a turn.

Treefarmer

·
Registered
4,070 Posts