Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
2,370 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a fairly solid hitch pin that I've been using for 20 years. Has a little corrosion on it but it otherwise in good shape. I've used it a number of times to tow a fairly heavy trailer (9000 lbs) and it shows NO sign of any stress or wear.

The problem I'm having is that it's a locking hitch pin and the lock itself is basically shot. It's so caked inside with crud that you can slip anything into the key slot, twist, and it will open.

I'm looking for a replacement locking hitch pin and I'm wondering if anyone has any suggestions.

- Needs to be able to handle a 10k trailer
- Needs to have a lock
- Lock should have a cover to keep debris and water out of the lock cylinder

What have you got to offer???

Reactions: pcabe5

·
RIP Ben
144 Posts

Attachments

·
Hey, I want a title too!
3,685 Posts

·
Administrator
18,266 Posts
I don't use any of the locking ones, seen/heard of to many that get stuck on and have to be cut off. The ones with the rubber caps seems to be the worst since the cover just holds moisture in. I never leave the hitch in unless they trailer is hooked up so I don't feel the need for one either.

·
Registered
719 Posts
I don't use any of the locking ones, seen/heard of to many that get stuck on and have to be cut off. The ones with the rubber caps seems to be the worst since the cover just holds moisture in. I never leave the hitch in unless they trailer is hooked up so I don't feel the need for one either.
I agree with you that leaving a hitch insert in when not in use is a bad idea. As a matter of fact, it is one of my pet peeves. Why do people leave these in when they drive these vehicles to the mall, grocery store, and office parks? And then, they park them with the insert hanging out over a sidewalk or in a walkway! :nunu: