Green Tractor Talk banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys noob here. I’m working in a vert tight area and need to move gravel to this location. What would be a safe amount I can put in the bucket without any rear weight ? I was thinking half of the bucket maybe. Thanks in advance.

·
Senior GTT Super Slacker
42,340 Posts
All flat land?

Reactions: jrsierra

·
Premium Member
2,021 Posts
Take half loads if you can’t use ballast. It’s more than just safety. Ballast protects your front axle. No ballast means leaky front seals.

·
Registered
1,865 Posts
If you can lift it and keep the rear tires on the ground, you're OK...BUT!!!!! Drive VERY slow when moving and keep you bucket as low as you can, like no more than a foot off of the ground.Bob

·
Senior GTT Super Slacker
42,340 Posts
If you can lift it and keep the rear tires on the ground, you're OK...BUT!!!!! Drive VERY slow when moving and keep you bucket as low as you can, like no more than a foot off of the ground.Bob
(y)

Reactions: PJR832

·
Premium Member
12,711 Posts
A noob using a SCUT to carry gravel in the FEL in a "mostly flat" tight work area without rear ballast. This has all of the components for a bad outcome. Possibly a very bad outcome. It's sort of like betting against gravity. When you lose, it's big.

·
Registered
666 Posts
Keep the mower deck on, also, get yourself a drawbar and a couple suitcase weights, you can slap together some emergency ballast in a hurry if you have no other options. Doing this, your Ballast barely hangs beyond the 3 point arms.

·
Premium Member
2020 2038R w220R MSL
177 Posts