Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
All,

I know nothing about hydraulics, except maybe how a wood splitter works, and know there must be some simple calculations or practices regards pumps and motors. At least with my quandary.

The question;

If I have a 18 horsepower engine with an operating speed of 3600 rpm, and with a driveshaft, it drives a rototiller with an input speed of 3600 rpm's, 1-1, one to one, and now, I remove the driveshaft and put a pump on the engine and a hyd motor on the tiller, what do I need for hyd motor and for a hyd pump?

Bonus question; If I drive two tillers at the specified 3600 rpm's, would I need two pumps (stacked) to drive the two motors?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I was a Combat Engineer (12B) for 27+ years and dig a pretty good battle position, but I am getting nowhere with this.. My searches have been futile and or have lead me down a rat hole...

Thanks,

Carl

·
Premium Member
3,221 Posts
All,

I know nothing about hydraulics, except maybe how a wood splitter works, and know there must be some simple calculations or practices regards pumps and motors. At least with my quandary.

The question;

If I have a 18 horsepower engine with an operating speed of 3600 rpm, and with a driveshaft, it drives a rototiller with an input speed of 3600 rpm's, 1-1, one to one, and now, I remove the driveshaft and put a pump on the engine and a hyd motor on the tiller, what do I need for hyd motor and for a hyd pump?

Bonus question; If I drive two tillers at the specified 3600 rpm's, would I need two pumps (stacked) to drive the two motors?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I was a Combat Engineer (12B) for 27+ years and dig a pretty good battle position, but I am getting nowhere with this.. My searches have been futile and or have lead me down a rat hole...

Thanks,

Carl
Here are some links;
Horsepower Calculator - Metaris Hydraulics

More;