Green Tractor Talk banner
1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
676 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bent one of my Frontier AP12F 48” forks. The bend starts about 14” from the end. I’ve had the forks for six years. Any ideas on how to bend it back?
Thanks very much,
Randy
World Wood Water Freezing Font

Water Water resources Green Wood Grass

Branch Wood Water Tree Trunk

·
Registered
676 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
The hottest heat I got is map gas. Would that be hot enough?

• Sad
Reactions: tj1 and driveshaft

·
Premium Member
17,080 Posts
How on Earth did you bend the fork UP?

·
Registered
334 Posts
I'm not an expert, but this guy seems to be one on the subject:

How to Address Bent Forklift Forks

The short answer is - it's time to look for replacement forks. You’ve probably seen videos online of people heating and bending their pallet forks. Some people have gone as far as to weld their forklift tines with a hydraulic press.

While this may appear to be a quick fix, the integrity of the steel is lost with heat. Once compromised, the integrity of the forks is gone forever. Just because forklift tines look like they once did doesn’t mean they’ll have the same strength. If you “fix” your forks with heat, you’ll never know their new forklift capacity. Therefore, you’ll never be able to operate safely.

Not only is reshaping forklift forks dangerous, but it is strictly against OSHA regulations. In fact, OSHA explicitly states, “Modifications and additions which affect capacity and safe operation shall not be performed by the customer or user without the manufacturer’s prior written approval.”

This mandate covers forklift blades as well. More often than not, the right choice is a replacement. If you have a question or concern about the integrity of your pallet forks, contact your manufacturer.