Green Tractor Talk banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
If a complete newbie wanted to try his hand at welding to work on basic manipulation of 3pt hitch stuff and basic fabrication, what type of welder would you recommend to learn on. I do not plan on quitting my day job and plan on attending an introductory class at a local college this spring.

Thank You - Dana

·
Premium Member
6,698 Posts
Well Dana,

Strickly speaking as a self taught sparky, I don't think you can go wrong with a MIG. I never tried stick or TIG, though I have heard TIG is a little tricker and may just take more time to learn. Everyone has there own pace ya know. It will come down to practice and experimenting.

Here is a good place to do some reading.

http://www.millerwelds.com/resources/

·
Administrator
21,037 Posts
First, you need to give us a budget-there is a lot involved like the welder, grinders, gloves, helmet, saw's, gas (if MIG welding), wire/electrodes...

A good basic stick welder is about $400-$500 for a decent (Miller, Lincoln) AC/DC machine-they often come up used for sale. You really want DC capabilities with stick.

A good basic MIG will be $1200 for a machine that can weld 3/8".

So, how much do you want to spend to "try" it?

·
Premium Member
311 Posts
I found a pretty decent solar powered auto darkening hood at Prax-air for around $80. Very happy with it, so far.

sent from the road

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·