Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
286 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
While sitting on the tractor yesterday I started playing with the PTO. No attachment on, just turning it on and off. It seems that if your off the tractor you can turn on the rear PTO and everything will stay running. If you sit in the seat and turn on the rear and then get off the seat it will shut the tractor down. Interesting

·
Premium Member
12,154 Posts
While sitting on the tractor yesterday I started playing with the PTO. No attachment on, just turning it on and off. It seems that if your off the tractor you can turn on the rear PTO and everything will stay running. If you sit in the seat and turn on the rear and then get off the seat it will shut the tractor down. Interesting
That is all detailed in the owner's manual. There is a specific procedure for running a rear implement like a wood chipper, etc. which requires the rear PTO to be operating and the operator off the seat. The manual gives the sequence for operating such implements. It only works for the rear PTO.

·
Registered
5,434 Posts
I can never remember that

That is all detailed in the owner's manual. There is a specific procedure for running a rear implement like a wood chipper, etc. which requires the rear PTO to be operating and the operator off the seat. The manual gives the sequence for operating such implements. It only works for the rear PTO.
My 790 has a procedure and it's simple and easy but I can never remember it from time to time. I need to laminate a card with instructions and put it under the seat or something. . .

Treefarmer

·
Registered
3,554 Posts
My 790 has a procedure and it's simple and easy but I can never remember it from time to time. I need to laminate a card with instructions and put it under the seat or something. . .

Treefarmer