Green Tractor Talk banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2017 X580 48A deck & 44 snowblower
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I purchased a used 2017 X580 recently and mowed with it 1st time today. On my old X300 and just got used to lifting the button when I backed up. I realized on the X580 about half way through my mowing the RIO switch not pushed made no difference. The PTO ran either way. Looking under the hood the 2 prongs on the back of the yellow RIO dash switch are bare. I’m sure this has been widely covered but I am new to the game of bypassing this switch. Has the previous owner tricked the switch? I looked around under there to see for myself, but not sure what I’m looking for. I’m not complaining and may very well leave it that way. Just want to be sure I understand what has been done to it

·
Registered
1,262 Posts
If there are no wires goin the the switch then the connector that should be plugged into the switch has a jumper in it and laying loose under the switch most likely.

·
Registered
2017 X580 48A deck & 44 snowblower
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
If there are no wires goin the the switch then the connector that should be plugged into the switch has a jumper in it and laying loose under the switch most likely.
Ok perfect thanks! I’ll take a closer look under there for the jumper. but sounds like this is what prior owner must have done. I hate to say it but it was kinda nice not fumbling for that button when reversing.

·
Registered
830 Posts
Ok perfect thanks! I’ll take a closer look under there for the jumper. but sounds like this is what prior owner must have done. I hate to say it but it was kinda nice not fumbling for that button when reversing.
I'm a big fan of "mnemonics" as a reminder to do things.

The RIO does not increase my situational awareness of what is behind me. I spent more time trying to remember to use the RIO than I did in watching what is behind me.