Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good Afternoon! This is my first time posting to this forum. However, when Googling issues about my JD 214 or L-111, I have found postings on this forum that have been extremely informative and helpful! I am somewhat mechanically inclined but am pretty inexperienced when it comes to diagnosing electrical issues (other than charging a battery, cleaning battery posts and cables) but I am willing to dig in and learn.

Anyway, I am having some issues with the JD 214. The S/N # on the frame is:M00214X317799. The engine information is: Model: 321AQ3, Spec. # 60318. The engine S/N # is hard to read but appears to be: 1504673_. BTW, I have an Operator's (not service) manual for the 214. One issue is the neutral safety switch. For years, I have had to move the shifter back and forth to get the engine to turn over. Now, no matter how I move the shifter now, I cannot get it to turn over. I should note that the 214 had been stored in doors until the last 1.5 years when my son had it and it was outside in the rain and snow. Last Fall when I picked the unit up and brought it home, it wouldn't turn over (neutral safety switch issue, I assume) or start. While it was on the trailer for a couple of days I sprayed some carb cleaner onto the handle and towards the transmission and let it sit a day and it did turn over, started and ran for a few seconds. It would not start again so I just pushed it into the garage where it has sat until now. When trying it in the last few days, I cannot get it to turn over. I am wondering if something transmission related rusted from sitting outside. What I would like to use the 214 for, primarily, is to blow snow in the winter and to pull a little trailer behind it for yard clean up.