Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking for info on how to advance the fuel pump and add more fuel. I am going to start pulling in a non turbo diesel field. Looking to turn up fuel and change timing of injection pump. I have a 1997 model year. Thanks for any info.

·
Registered
9,561 Posts
Timing is done by shimming the fuel pump. Fuel is adjusted by a screw on the pump. In general these are tuned as rich as possible.

·
Registered
4 Posts
What can I do if pump has no fuel adjustment screw? Looks like there is a plug where adjuster should be.

·
Registered
4 Posts
I have replaced pumps before on bigger tractors. I am a machinist and race engine builder by trade. Please let me know where I can get an adjustable pump. Thanks

·
Registered
9,561 Posts
I have replaced pumps before on bigger tractors. I am a machinist and race engine builder by trade. Please let me know where I can get an adjustable pump. Thanks
The service manual does not contain the pump replacement procedure, and google is full of horror stories of lost timing. Apparently the process is not like other Diesel engines. My dealer knows I do all my own work no matter how deep, and they warned me not to remove it. I have no idea where to get an adjustable pump, I’ve never heard of anyone doing that. You can contact yanmar, but you’ll need a similar model that isn’t used by deere to discuss, they do not directly support the JD engines due to their business agreement.

·
Registered
762 Posts
You also know to shim the PRV on the transmission, too? You won't want the tranny to pop off on you halfway through the pull, and I have no suggestions how to increase ground speed. Hydrostats generally don't make as good a puller as a gear drive.

·
Registered
1,864 Posts
Those wondering about the hydro might look here for some info