Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a very slow leak and it appears to be coming from one of the connectors where it connects to the SCV (I believe that is the correct term, newbie here). I am going to apply some sealant tonight and see if that stops the leak. I was wondering if there are O rings in this connector in one or both ends that could be bad also. I can't find any detailed information to determine this and though I would ask the forum. I would think there would be one in the receptacle that has the knurled ring. If so, are they easy to replace? Not much of a mechanic, but I try hard.

Thank you for your time.

DreaminMan in Maine

·
Super Moderator
7,911 Posts
Clean it off good to make sure you know where the leak is coming from. It may be leaking from the female quick coupler and internal O-rings are available and easily replaceable. I believe the fitting adapter that screws into the SCV also has an O-Ring seal on it. When in doubt, take it apart and find out!!

Welcome aboard as well!

·
Premium Member
3,964 Posts
^^^^^ What they have said. There many different type of hydraulic connections. Many do not use any sealer. I would hose the area with a good degreaser and run it a little bit. If there is a quick coupler near by you could just be seeing the little bit of oil that leaks where the couplers are decoupled. Hydraulic fluid is much like diesel fuel and will spread out over time so it can be hard to tell the true source until it is cleaned up

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5