Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings all, I'm new to GTT - my 1st post.
Wondering if I can get some advise on an issue with my 2005 x495.

Symptom:
After cold start, and running for a random amount of time (anywhere between 15-45 min.) the temperature gauge will suddenly go from normal (about 1/4 up from cold position) to past the red (about as far as the needle will move). This happens in about 5-6 seconds.
To cure this, I shut down and let the machine rest for about 5 minutes. I then start up again, and the gauge returns to normal operating temperature. It may randomly repeat this again.

This problem appeared for the 1st time after I pulled the machine out this spring (May, 2019) to start mowing. ( I don't use it during the winter, it's just stored in my garage).

I'm not sure if the engine is actually overheating or not, so when it happens I shut down, and continue on a few minutes later. (bit of a pain, but I don't want to damage the engine).

Could this be a rad cap, thermostat, temperature sensor, or coolant pump problem? Any advise is appreciated!

Side note: I use this machine strictly for mowing; I have no other attachments for it other than the 54" deck. About 650 hrs on the machine right now.

Jack

·
Super Moderator
5,446 Posts
:gtfam:

·
Super Moderator
5,446 Posts
It could be a thermostat issue. I'm guessing it's probably original. Might be a worthwhile shot to replace it.

·
Registered
349 Posts
It could be a thermostat issue. I'm guessing it's probably original. Might be a worthwhile shot to replace it.
It's the thermostat. Old guys that drove old cars know these things.:bigthumb:

·
Registered
7,868 Posts
If you are using the PTO when the temp gauge goes nuts, does the mower shut off? My guess is that it doesn't which means the tractor isn't actually overheating. Plus, it can't change that drastically in temp unless something is plugged which would cause other symptoms.