Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 133 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thought I would make a post about my adventure with this 2630 tractor. I got it for a really good price knowing it needed work. I guess I didn't realize the extent of the work though. I am no mechanic at all, I did work for CAT for a while. I grew up driving similar tractors, probably since around 5. This is the first one I actually purchased myself.

Tractor didn't even start when delivered, they rolled it off a rollback I think because the gravel was pushed away. Eventually, I discovered a variety of electrical issues, basically rewiring the entire machine.

Shifter had serious slop. Discovered the parking assist kit add-on, this tractor had the kit added but still had the old snap rings. Whatever, ordered the right kit of snap rings, problem solved. Could have been worse, seeing how the aluminum shifter cover is busted in a few places.

Finally got it running, changed all fluids. Hydraulic inlet screen wasn't really as bad as I expected, but wasn't great either. It was probably 40-50% clogged.

Eventually I got around to using it only to discover how destroyed the clutch was. Tractor wouldn't pull up a hill in low gear, engine running fine. So I pulled it in the garage and split it myself.

Attachments

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
Pilot bearing was destroyed, clutch disk had seen better days, entire inside of housing looked like an oil bomb went off.

Discovered the vibration problem, no balancer shafts??!? Previous owner removed them? My guess is they got robbed for another machine. That will be another repair for another day...