Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all.
I've searched for hours on the web and here and could not find an answer.
I thought it would be pretty easy to find the answer to my questions, but that isn't the case.
I'm sure this has happened before, right?

I am new to the tractor scene. I inherited the L110 lawn tractor.

Today, while mowing, I stopped it while running and just got off. The seat safety thing was activated and the mower shut down.
I was aware if the feature, but didn't know that it was a bad thing and would screw it up. I tried starting it again and there is absolutely no power.

How does one fix my problem?

·
Registered
801 Posts
Js, If by "absolutely no power" you mean you turn key to "Start" and nothing, there are 5 items in the start circuit: 20 amp fuse, ignition switch, pto switch, brake switch, and the starting solenoid.

Let me first say that I don't have an L100 and what I'm about to say is based on info found on an L100 wiring diagram found online.

Fuse: You should have 4 positions on your key switch: off, run with lights, run without lights, and start. If you are 100% certain that your headlights work, turn key one position...that would be the 2nd position of the switch..., lights should come on (3rd & 4th, no lights).

Ignition switch: Other than a meter, there's no way to verify this is good or bad.

PTO switch: Verify this is "Off"...tractor will NOT crank with pto "On"

Brake switch: Brake must be set/depressed for engine to crank. Looseness in pedal or linkage will often result in this switch not being activated.

Start solenoid: Locate terminal on solenoid with purple wire. Remove wire and put volt meter into wire connector. Turn key to "Start" and if you have 12 volts DC, solenoid is bad. An "el cheapo" volt meter can be bought at box stores for around $30.

I'm thinking that your problem is probably the pto switch is still on or a problem with the brake switch. Bob