Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings! Does anyone have any experience with the land leveler attachment in the below link? I have a steep drive. Actually two steep drives. One to the house and one to the barn. I just got a 3038e and have a box blade. However, this attachment looks more operator friendly to smoothing out the road after wash outs. I am just curious how well it works on hills. Thanks for any info.

Tractor Land Plane - Tractor Land Leveler - 3 point Hitch

·
Registered
220 Posts
I have a Cammond heavy duty model land plane. I have no experience with either of those two brands. The answer is; that device is exactly what is needed to maintain a gravel road/drive. I do not know what you refer to as steep but they will work on grades up to whatever your tractor can handle. I have used one on a 25-30% (percent) grade. You still need to have proper drainage with good ditches. That type of unit will not cut a ditch very well at all. It will maintain a crown very well and will actually create a crown in your road if used correctly.

King Cutter has a pretty good rep. Folks seem to like EA; they tend to build for the smaller SCUTs. Weight is your friend with these units. The max that your tractor can handle is what you want. Do not go for the light weight ones. I think EA may have different weight/hardiness models.

·
Registered
220 Posts
Went and looked at the specs.
My Cammond 84" is 935 lbs
The King Cutter 84" is 515 lbs
The EA 84" is 611 lbs
The compact Cammond 84" is 550 lbs.

You can see the weight difference which is basically steel, robustness and to a degree the length of the body design. I also have a larger tractor so I am not recommending that you go with mine at 935 lbs as your tractor could not handle it. Just pointing out things.

·
Registered
160 Posts
2nd.