Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All, new guy here from Australia.

I have a John Deere LX279 that is having a few issues.

It starts and runs fine, but after a while develops a bit of a miss sometimes, which today, turned into more of a miss, then started hunting up and down the revs. Without the blades on it runs fine, it seems as if once it gets a warm, something is causing extra resistance on the blades that is causing the issue?

I have checked the obvious, nothing caught up in the pulleys, nothing in/around the blades. It seems as if there is a problem with the blade drive system that kicks in when it gets hot. Whilst I have never worked on a mower before, I am mechanically minded, and can happily work on motors and mechanical systems, but does this sound like an obvious/common problem that I might be able to fix?

Thanks in advance,

Matt

·
Registered
3,870 Posts
Hi All, new guy here from Australia.

I have a John Deere LX279 that is having a few issues.

It starts and runs fine, but after a while develops a bit of a miss sometimes, which today, turned into more of a miss, then started hunting up and down the revs. Without the blades on it runs fine, it seems as if once it gets a warm, something is causing extra resistance on the blades that is causing the issue?

I have checked the obvious, nothing caught up in the pulleys, nothing in/around the blades. It seems as if there is a problem with the blade drive system that kicks in when it gets hot. Whilst I have never worked on a mower before, I am mechanically minded, and can happily work on motors and mechanical systems, but does this sound like an obvious/common problem that I might be able to fix?

Thanks in advance,

Matt