Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Administrator
16,785 Posts
I have a similar set, don’t use them much but it’s good to have them. I also have a set of left hand drill bits in the arsenal.

·
Premium Member
4,326 Posts
I have a similar set, don’t use them much but it’s good to have them. I also have a set of left hand drill bits in the arsenal.
Do they fill the hole back in? Must be hard to push the chips back down the spinning flutes.:laugh:

Sorry couldn’t resist.:hide:

·
Registered
2,346 Posts
I work as a millwright, very seldom do we use metric drill bits. We just use standard bits for metric holes. With a set of letter, number, and fractional bits you have a bit that’s very close to a metric bit.

·
Registered
346 Posts
Having worked in and ran machine shops for a career, drills and how they were used was one of my pet peeves.

The kinds of work we did with precision location, size, and shape of holes was critical at times. We used metric drill a lot depending on hole tolerance and material being drilled. Metric drills many time made a difference in these specifications.

We used a lot of index-able insert drills, too expensive for occasional home shop use.

For most production jobs with small holes that we did I would order North American made twist drills because depending on material and other conditions I could depend on the number of holes per drill and number of resharpening each drill would produce. Even with a more expensive drill this would keep the cost per hole to a minimum.

My problem was many times some bean counter or other person wanting to be a monthly cash sheet hero would substitute cheap Chinese drills that were not dependable, would not last, and created scrap parts when they failed. It was hard to get the cost per hole idea through there head.

·
Premium Member
1,617 Posts
Kenny,
Can you name a time when a left-hand drill bit would be needed? Just curious....

Sincerely

·
Registered
4,420 Posts