Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
583 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I added 8" side extensions to my JD 54" plow to make a total of 70". I traded a gun for a MillerMatic 140 welder. I havn't welded since high school, and that was stick welding, so this is my first project with wire welding. I also added rubber cutting edge from a thick horse stal mat from the farm store. Still need to find a 6' steel cutting edge, but works fine the way it is. I have to add the pics from my phone, so please bear with me.:thumbup1gif:

·
Registered
583 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Here we go

Attachments

·
Registered
583 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Made a heated paint booth since my garage is not insulated. Worked pretty good. Sorry about sideways pics. Don't kn why that's happening. By the way, I used an electic heater and not the fuel heater since paint can be flamable.

Attachments

·
Registered
583 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I'm pretty impressed with the rubber edge. It rides right over bumps and seams in drive. Quiet and smooth, reall don't know how I've lived without it. Don't know why JD doesn't make a wider blade for the compacts. This blade is now the perfect size for my needs. Please ignore the messsy garage, and I know my welding skills need alot of work. This summer I will grind them down and clean them up and paint the whole blade green.
One side of blade sits a little highter than other, was that way when I picked it up from dealer. Is their any adjusting it?

Reactions: DRobinson

·
Premium Member
10,109 Posts
Looks pretty darn good. :good2: as long as they hold, they are good welds. :yahoo:

I've got the same welder. It is a good machine. Like you I never used a mig, only stick, and it had been some time since I stick welded as well.

A few more projects is all it will take. If you are like me you'll be looking for stuff to weld. :lol:

Enjoy!

·
Registered
2,786 Posts
Yeah nice job!

Reactions: Brians2032R

·
Senior GTT Super Slacker