Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Corndog Hater
11,464 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A wise forum member advised me to seek out the advice of the other wise members here in regards to modifying my pole barn. The backstory is this barn was built in 1991 to house livestock, it had 6 stalls. The first thing I did was remove the stalls in 2006 when we bought the place. It has served us ok as a catch all and place to keep the equipment under cover. However, the poles are often/always in the way, among other things. I have been patching and replacing shingles on the roof for the last 5 years or so as the roof is original to 1991. We would like to get our camper under cover in the winter and for any extended period when we might not use it. In order to do that, mods must be made. We contemplated a new building. We got an estimate for a 28' x 48' building with 16' ceiling height. It included (2) 12' x 14' overhead doors and a man door. It would be metal sided and roofed, with no floor included in the price. Also, the Amish that gave me the estimate would dismantle the existing barn and resell the "distressed" board and no money would change hands. The estimate was $25,000. I have asked around and that seems high, as I also thought. So, we decided to try to work with what we have. The original main part of the barn measures 30' x 30'. It is built with 4" x 6" poles, 10' on center. The previous owner then added on a 10' "shed" onto the side. The shallow pitch of the roof has been a thorn in my side since day one. Unfortunately the original 30' x 30' in not big enough to house our 36.5' long camper (hitch to bumper and including the spare tire). I have had one of the civil engineers from work come out and look at the barn. He thinks what we are proposing is fine. I am including original pics and then the same pics mocked up to show our proposed mods. I'm looking for any additional thoughts or ideas, as there is more than one way to skin a cat. Thanks!

Attachments