Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
716 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My neighbor has a Montana 3240 with PTO issues. He was brush cutting his field and the pto suddenly stopped working. Now when engaging the pto (with no implement on) the pto shaft spins but with a horrible grinding noise. Obviously there are internals that have failed but my question is should I dig into this thing myself? I have been a dealership tech for over 20 years and have overhauled numerous transmissions, engines and axles but this whole tractor transmission/pto/hydraulic mystery box is just that, a mystery. I was never a big fan of this Montana tractor from the day he bought it. Seems really cheap and it only has 300 hours. Has anyone every overhauled a tractor tranny? Should I just swallow my pride and tell him to take it to a tractor service garage? What are your thoughts? I do have a service manual but the translation from Korean to English is horrible and it just makes things a little more difficult.:flag_of_truce:

·
Super Moderator
4,975 Posts
The Montana tractors were built by LS. Pretty much the same machines as the FarmTrac.

I'd be leary of not being able to get it back together after I got it apart.

·
Registered
716 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The Montana tractors were built by LS. Pretty much the same machines as the FarmTrac.

I'd be leary of not being able to get it back together after I got it apart.
Jim that's my concern as well haha. I not thinking I should dive into this thing at this point.

·
Registered
291 Posts
Jim that's my concern as well haha. I not thinking I should dive into this thing at this point.
I personally would have a beer and step away from the Montana:laugh:

·
Registered
20 Posts
It's a big job- not for newbies