Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Premium Member
5,064 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been parking my Dodge 3500 Diesel truck in my shop this winter. It's a tight fit but it's worked for me so far . . . however, it would be nice if, after getting the rear bumper where I want it I could slide the front end 2' further West. The added sq. feet would be most appreciated. I'm guessing the front-end weighs in the 2500 - 3000 lb range.

Any ideas on how to do that without a lot of :gizmo:?

Moving Dodge-1.JPG

Moving Dodge-2.JPG

Moving Dodge-3.JPG

·
Registered
3,687 Posts
If the floor is vinyl, put down a piece of steel.

Simply lift the front with a roll around jack,, then, grab the handle and pull,
the truck will go wherever you want it to go.
In 1966iish,, I worked in a garage and we did this all the time,,
back then, a 1964 Dodge car weighed almost as much as that truck,,,
so, the weight is similar,,,

·
Premium Member
2,734 Posts
A good floor jack is the easiest. I have a set of wheel dollies made by Larkin I use on my corvette for winter. The biggest problem with them is I have to jack up every corner and put them under the tires. Then I can put the vette wherever I want but then I have to jack each corner to get it back on the ground.

·
Registered
4,421 Posts
Harbor Freight. I have two they work good.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
2,193 Posts
Tire dollies are the trick. We stored a truck the same way you are trying to with the wheel dollies. But when we put the front tires up on the dollies we pushed and pushed but couldn't get the front end over to the right. Wouldn't budge. Then realized the driver side rear tire would need to move also. Truck was in park, so other guy jumped in the truck, put it in nuetral, and I was able to push it by myself. Just be careful especially if you garage has a significant slope for draining. May take off on you . I'd recommend two people, one for pushing, one in driver seat working the brake.

·
Premium Member