Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,569 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking to purchase a disc harrow but don't know what size my 2032r can handle. I'm assuming something in the 5' and 15-20 disc's. I'm relying on your guy's/gal's (that's right) vast knowledge. Also any type of brand I should be leaning towards or away from.

Thanks for your help and input. BTW main use will be for food plots.

·
Premium Member
2,569 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Crickets?

Reactions: Levi

·
Premium Member
6,018 Posts
Crickets?
I’ll bite. It’s a hard question because disks are so varied but in general 5 or 6 feet should work. I have little experience with field disk under 13’. The disk harrow confuses me. Harrow to me means tines that dig. Two tines digging would tax it very quick.

·
Premium Member
2,569 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I’ll bite. It’s a hard question because disks are so varied but in general 5 or 6 feet should work. I have little experience with field disk under 13’. The disk harrow confuses me. Harrow to me means tines that dig. Two tines digging would tax it very quick.
I guess I have always heard disc harrow in reference to the implement that has rows of disc at alternating angles. Some can be smooth and some notched.

My main concern is that I will go too large and won't be able to pull it.

noun: disc harrow
a harrow with cutting edges consisting of a row of concave disks set at an oblique angle.

·
Premium Member
6,018 Posts
You should not have a problem with a 5 or 6’. I see plenty of people pulling 4’ ones behind 4 wheelers. I would probably stay towards the 5 as disks like to float if there is a lot of weeds or trash and if you weight it the weight would be focused on a smaller footprint. The nice thing about a disk is you can easily make multiple passes until you get the finish you desire.

Hope this helps.

·
Premium Member
2,569 Posts
Discussion Starter #6