Green Tractor Talk banner

Need advice - what to look for/what damage to expect.

2K views 12 replies 9 participants last post by  Treefarmer 
#1 ·
Ok. Got a problem with a hand me down Kubota mower and need advice as to what the issue is likely to be/what to look for.

I am by no means an expert on all things mechanical. I know enough to do routine maintnance (or YouTube a video or 2 when needed or how to find a manual online), but this one is outside of my level of skill likely.

The problem: Family member decides to hand keys to a Kubota riding mower to what can only be described as an idiot. User decides to try and mow a 4 foot tall hayfield grass with a 20 hp rider !! As if this isn't bad enough - it begins to smoke, so whats the logical thing to do....of course, GO FASTER BEFORE IT CAN QUIT!!!

Come home to a mower sitting out and get the "I dont know whats wrong" - was supposed to have taken it to shop...find out today it was just shoved to back of the garage and forgotten until today and got the whole story.

So, what I do know...its a diesel, and was smoking heavily. They checked coolant at some point and said it was bone dry.

Based on this - Im guessing I'll be looking at a rebuild. No way that engine survived this unscathed. Rings, sleeve, gasket and check the water pump (possible rebuild/replace). Anything else I should expect? Parts look to be around $800...and I figure same for labor at local shop.

At $1600, I think the repair/replace benefit is still favorable...but much beyond $2500 it gets murkier. Could also hope to get it running again cheap to dump it I guess...but non running to me I wouldnt expect any return. Checked for used engine...looking at 1800 plus shipping - no guarantee.

Anything else to be aware of?