Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I'm new to the JD forum. It looks like it is full of good info and good people. I'm hoping to get a little advice about my oil leak issue. I have a new to me 2008 1026r with 600hrs on it. I parked it in the garage used it for a few hours and then noticed a few days later that it was leaking oil. I have investigated this leak and what I found was a half dozen loose bolts holding the right rear tranny case together. I've marked the picture with red dots identifying the lose bolts. The oil is leaking from the the top half of the right side housing (circled in yellow in pic). The JD shop says $1600 to open and re seal. Has anyone tackled this themselves? Are there any special tools needed. Can it be done in place? Or does the whole tranny rear end have to come out. I've noticed that the frame parts will have to come off. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. 20180404_093856.jpg

Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
3,436 Posts
Might want to call the dealer and ask about this. I didn't read the entire thread but there was a known issue with missing bolts on the 1026R and a recall. Maybe the recall was performed but not correctly or something. Might be worth a shot to further look into.

http://www.greentractortalk.com/forums/sub-compact-utility-tractors-scut/2997-1026r-transmission-bolt-recall.html

I also agree to get a TM. Personally I like the CD version. It is cheaper and I have a computer in the shop. Besides for how much cheaper it is, I can print out a lot of pages needed if I want a copy that I can hold. If they get greasy I can toss them and print out new pages. Can't go wrong with either one though.

·
Registered
3,436 Posts

·
Registered
12,449 Posts