Green Tractor Talk banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
2000 4x6 Gator gas, new to me 4/2021, beat up & in need of repair! :)
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All, I am a new owner of a 6x4 2000 gator (We call her Grace as we have been graced by her presence!) I bought her to help with stall cleaning. She is pretty beat up and will need a lot of body work but she runs! Currently we have a lot of smoke from the exhaust (I am thinking a Fuel filter or Air filter issue?) I am also new to small engine work! I am looking to make the bed an electric lift but wish to use a non Deere actuator as the cost of the kit is $600+! I believe the part I need is BM20701. Does anyone know what is a compatible actuator? TIA!! :)
Brenda

·
Super Moderator
6,041 Posts
Welcome to GTT

·
Registered
22 Posts
Congrats! I too have one from that year range. I think mine was specifically a 1999 and in diesel. I found one through a government surplus auction, and luckily they had an actuator I was able to salvage. During my research, these gators are already pre-wired for the actuator. It's plug and play. Looking at mine, I have the following stamped on the actuator - D12-21B5-05JD and made by Warner Electric. Also during my search at that time, there is forum out there where someone was able to find an actuator that met the sam specs in size/fit. Sorry, but I'm not able to recall what it was.

What color smoke did you observe when starting? Beside the oil change, I would flush out the coolant and dump/replace fuel. For some reason, I believe there is an in-line fuel filter in addition to the screw on fuel filter canister. This was for my diesel, so I'm not sure about gasoline engine.

I love my 6x4, that thing runs like a beast. But after a couple of years using the tow behind brush mower and snow plowing, I was yearning for power steering. Recently got a tractor to deal with that.

Good luck on your rehab of the 6x4.

·
Senior GTT Super Slacker
42,294 Posts
Welcome to GTT