Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
3,928 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm going to build some cabinets for the garage. They aren't going to be fancy, but it's a pretty big project for me. I'm an amateur sketchup designer, so bear with me if this is really horrible. :laugh:

The first one is five feet and the second one is 8 feet. There's a notch in the top of the long one to go around a window. The design is for 3/4" plywood for the shelves, top and sides with 1x4 for the rest. I'll be using 1/4" plywood for the door middles. Does this design look ok? I'm certainly not a cabinet guy, so if there are pointers. I'm all ears.

Garage Kitchen Gadget Cabinet - New 1.jpg

Garage Kitchen Gadget Cabinet - New 2.jpg

·
Bonehead Club Lackey
10,263 Posts
Looks pretty good. If it's just going into the garage I'd forget about the doors. Doors can get in the way sometimes.

·
Registered
164 Posts
I would think about making the shelve adjustable with either pins in the side or shelf standards in the sides. I made some just like that 17 years ago without adjustable shelves and I've been kicking myself ever since.
Ron

·
Registered
1,072 Posts
I think they look pretty good. Those will be some sturdy cabinets if you build them out of 3/4":thumbup1gif:

·
Premium Member
14,712 Posts
Nice drawings and should be a good strong cabinet will last a life time. I had sliding doors on one cabinet (workbench) after working at the workbench for a month doors were removed. Since then I've made several buildings for the grandsons ,from the doors. :dunno:

·
Registered
12,288 Posts
I think they look pretty good. Those will be some sturdy cabinets if you build them out of 3/4":thumbup1gif:
yeah but with 3/4 plywood their darn sure not gonna bend:thumbup1gif: stick to the 3/4 plywood theory for the shelves. u can go with 1/2 for the sides-maybe!:dunno:
Bubber..............................................................................................