Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
202 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am very new to tractor ownership and I have a new 1025r. I bought it equipt with a loader and a back blade attached with a ballast box tied into the bucket. I have the ballast box out in my yard ready for the cement for weight and I do not have a hitch attachment so it will just go on the 3 point. Should I prop this up on something and level it before filling with ballast?
Is the process of attaching it that difficult. My question may sound stupid but like I say I'm very new to this.

·
Senior GTT Super Slacker
37,853 Posts
Welcome to GTT odis.
Many here fill the ballast bot with something removable Stone/Sand etc...
If filling with concrete, I'd level the box both ways before filling.

·
Super Moderator
5,214 Posts
You'll probably want it as close to level as you can get it if you're going to pour concrete into it just to get a decent, level finished product. That isn't critical to it's functioning but... you're going to be staring at it for the next 30 years so.. I dunno. Maybe that's just me with my OCD. If it was crooked it would drive me nutso. :laugh:

Without a quickhitch you'll have to muscle things around a bit to get it on the 3-pt hitch but it's do-able. :good2:

·
Administrator
18,343 Posts
Welcome to GTT,
Before filling with concrete, seal the seams inside with tape or caulk or the liquid will seep out and make a mess!

·
Registered
325 Posts
I built one for my brother and filled with concrete. Before putting in the concrete I drilled a hole in all four corners of the box and then set 1 1/2" PVC pipe in the corners to hold a rake, spade, hoe, etc.

·
Registered
3,919 Posts
You could always use suitcase weights that way their removeable to make putting the box on and off easier,you can use them for other things like hanging on your blade for more weight or on the front for counter weight.They have them in 42 and 70 lb.

·
Registered
202 Posts