Green Tractor Talk banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

· Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys!
I’m not sure if this is the right place for buying advice, sorry if it’s not!

My wife and I brought 5 acres of land that has about 2 acres of flat grass and 3 acres of light wooded areas.
We are going to build a house on it but in the meantime I need to mow!
I’m a complete tractor newbie so this is all very new to me.
I quickly ruled out the s100s and the s200s. So I was between x300s and x500s
The more we looked into it, the more we started thinking that we wanted to buy something much more than just a mower. These are now the kind of things we’re imagining doing.

First off, we’d like to be able to use a tiller. I’d love to have a front bucket for moving mulch/gravel and digging light trenches. We’re now talking about doing some of the land clearing and post construction landscaping ourselves which would further justify the price. I can also imagine digging out and leveling a driveway or patio.

So clearly with all of that we’re no longer in the X300 range. Now I think we’re in the 500,700 and even 1025 range.
I thought that the 580 would do it for us. Seemed like it was just ok enough for ground contact work. I also saw bucket attachments like the Johnny bucket jr and thought we’d be good to go.
Then I learned a little bit about hydraulics and 3 point hitches. It would appear that the x500s do not have either of those capabilities and having those capabilities seem necessary for the kind of things we’d like to do (maybe?)

I think the most we’d like to spend would be around 20k so I think that puts out of the compact tractor range.

What are your guys thoughts? Will a 500 series cut it? Doesn’t seem like it to me. Does the 700 series have what we need? If so what model? Also what kind of things do I need to outfit it with when I buy It, 3 point hitch? Front hitch? Brackets? Ext.
I appreciate any advice/help/resources you could provide!

thanks
Kevin