Green Tractor Talk banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am at my wits end with this issue. I am not only new to the forum, I am new to tractors. I bought the 2305 in July 2010. I have learned alot, but have a LONG way to go. Last summer I had an issue where my 2305 kept stalling. Basically it would run for 60-90 seconds (more power less time), and stall. After 10-15 seconds it would start back up, albeit roughly. I eventually noticed that the fuel bowl was draining. So I isolated and could literally watch the fuel level drop after about 45 seconds. Once it hit bottom it would stall and the slowly fill back up. 10 seconds or so. My friend who lives nearby is well versed in the tractor world. After trying various things, such as fuel filter, air filter, etc, he felt it was bad gas. So we drained the tank (which is a PAIN). We put in some off road diesel and the problem was gone. Bad gas right.....wrong. It ran fine without the issue for a whole year, then the exact issue started again this weekend....except I am on my second 5 gallon tank of off road diesel both bought the same day. Furthermore, I was cutting for a solid half hour before it started. I changed the fuel filter and no change. Also removed the air filter (My supplier is out of them), no change. Loosening the cap does not help. I am about ready to take it to the dealer, but am hesitating since they seem perplexed as to what the issue is....which ususally means unnecessary repairs and expense...and will not have my tractor for 2-3 weeks. What could have changed? Any suggestions would be REALLY appreciated.

·
Administrator
20,645 Posts
:wgtt:

If the fuel bowl is emptying, there is a obstruction in the tank or the hose that runs from the tank to the water separator. Time to remove the tank again and make sure the line is not kinking. One member with simular problems reported finding stink-bugs in the tank blocking the outlet!

2305-1.jpg

·
Senior GTT Super Slacker