Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
274 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi guys,

So although the x758 is only at 37 hours, I was going to do the 1st 50 hour service because the tractor was purchased fall 2016, and its been over the year threshold even though under 50 hours slightly.

So, I need some help because im not a mechanic by any means and would like to take care of this GT myself.

I was a little bit confused with the manual, they call the transaxle oil, and the hydraulic oil basically the same thing??
So let me try firstly by saying what I am going to do

Engine Oil:
Change engine oil (3.2L) and engine oil filter
(store gave me 3 940ml bottles of 15W-40 JD Plus-50 II) but I am pretty sure in New England a 5W-40 or even a 0W-40 would be more ideal than 15W-40??) I will be using this for light mowing and snow removal in winter) So I was going to go with either 0W-40 or 5W-40...thoughts...?

Transaxle Oil Change:
So I have the full-time 4WD system, so I got confused with the combined use of the term hydraulic oil at the front and transaxle oil in the rear, but it sounds like its a shared system so I was going to have on hand the Transaxle oil filter, and minimum 12L of John Deere Low Vis Hy-Gard J20D as per the manual it takes this oil and 11.8L of it.
From the sounds of it if you dont change the front and rear together they will mix and contaminate the old and new so do both together.

Other Equipment:
Buy two 2 Tonne jacks for the Front
I already have a hydraulic jack to raise the front of the GT
A skinny hydraulic funnel for filling the front hydraulic filler plug
Oil containers
Usual wrenches and oil filter wrench

Greasing:
After the above I was going to grease all the grease points with the JD lithium grease I have and grease gun and clean the air screen

Coolant:
I did notice the coolant is low when the GT is off and cold.....but no mention in the service schedule to fill this I think until 200+ hours.