Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I admit now and have numerous times before that I am relatively new to my X738 (24 hrs on my machine) and tractors in general. That being said, I removed my soft cab today, replaced my (snow) blade with my de-thatcher and to feel like a person who knows stuff, I checked my transaxle dipstick.....wait for it......PISSED....nothing on the dipstick with the dipstick resting on the cowling or nothing on dipstick with it turned all the way in....I'm pissed. Not sure I should be but I am.

I am going to contact my dealer tomorrow (whom I have a good relationship with and I'm in discussion on buying a 1025r from him) and ask what the hell??!!

I probably should have checked this earlier but I did not. I just assumed, yes I know what "assume" means, that everything on my tractor should have been ready for a new user to use.

Maybe this machine (and others like it) use amounts of transaxle oil that I would call excessive. My machine does not have a leak (no visible liquids on the ground). Maybe I am over-reacting. Please tell me if I am. Maybe it is as simple as adding Low Viscosity HY-GARD (JD02) as my manual states.

·
Premium Member
14,724 Posts
Should have fluid on the dip sticks (thinking 2 maybe 3 maybe 1 havn't been near the x738 for over a month), on front axle , if it hadn't been running within say 30-60 mins. Can't remember the length of time manual says.
With setting level check the level and thinking you only insert the dip stick in the hole , without tightening.

If not get your manual out and it will tell you what to do with awd front axle and transaxle.