Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
928 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had 10 yards of black dirt that I had to move around as part of my yard rehab project. Yesterday, I noted that a full bucket of dirt made that 1023E really squirrely driving across the yard. So first thing this morning after I got home from work, I put the brand new ballast box (that I bought because everyone here on GTT kept talking about how important they are) on the iMatch and took it back to the corner where I have a nice pile of pea rock....shoveled it into the BB and the drove over to where my son had delivered the dirt. This was the maiden voyage of the ballast box. I confess...although I intellectually understood the concept of ballast on these tractors, I'm a total noob at tractors and I was shocked at the difference that that ballast made in the handling and the safety of that little 1023E. Today I moved about 7 yards if dirt and it went perfectly (and safely).

·
Premium Member
14,099 Posts
YES someone finally listened to what we told them .... :laugh:

Glad to hear , all is safe.

As you said using ballast makes a world of difference, plus it saves your tractor , and possibly you if tractor rolls on its side.

·
Registered
304 Posts
The important thing is not how you learn, but that you learn. Good work.

For me I wish for some scales so I can figure the correct ballast accurately. Just call me OCD.

·
Registered
2,842 Posts
Should feel a big difference in ability to penetrate the pile with the front bucket with ballast as well.
These little machines sure make the yard chores a lot easier eh?

·
Registered
928 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Should feel a big difference in ability to penetrate the pile with the front bucket with ballast as well.
These little machines sure make the yard chores a lot easier eh?