Green Tractor Talk banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I recently acquired an early 1970's 4320 for doing hay on our family farm. I bought this tractor from a local used tractor dealership knowing it had some issues shifting. Little did I know what those issues took to fix. The top drive shaft synchronizer had completely fallen apart and to my surprise, you have to just about disassemble the entire tractor to get it out!! Something I have never done before. After a bit of research, I had a local metal fabricator make a splitting stand for me that would support this heavy beast! After 2 full days of splitting this tractor I found that not only did it have a bad syncro, it also has a missing tooth on the PTO drive gear. :confused: I had to use the ROPS bar and a ratchet strap to lift the Rockshaft cover off to get to the trans pump and snap ring that holds the other end of the top shaft in place. (That cover is HEAVY! LOL!). I took the complete shaft to a local tractor repair shop to have that rebuilt because most of the gears and such are pressed onto the shaft and I don't have a shop press. Well, come to find out, not only the syncro was bad but the low range gear on the shaft was bad too. That happens to be a "John Deere Only" part that costs $500!! So my total quote for rebuilding the top shaft (Syncro and low range gear), good/used shift fork, gaskets and PTO drive gear was $2000. Plus I need 4 buckets of JD 303 hydraulic oil ($79/ 5 gallons) and new filters! LOL! :sick: