Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Good morning Ladies and Gentlemen,

My name is Jason Gadsby, I am a retired Soldier/Disabled Veteran living in Texas. I am not an owner as of yet, but am hoping to be one soon after hearing the thoughts from all you experts out there. My Father in Law is selling his 97ish GT235 ride on. He is selling it fairly cheap because it needs some work. It does run, albeit a little rough as he has left it out doors for quite some time. The plastics will all need replacing, as well as the seat. There isnt really any rust to be spoken of, but I would be painting it again just to have a fresh tractor. I am experienced mechanically, having been a mechanic in the Army for 13 years. I can also paint, weld, etc etc. So my question to you all is, is it worth saving? The cost is around $250, and then the parts needed to fix her up like new. I am on a small lot now, but my wife and I are about to buy a 2 acre lot near Lake Whitney and will need a tractor. I am glad to be here, and even assuming you all tell me I am dumb and just buy a new one, it will still be green and yellow :) Thank you all and please dont pull any punches!

Registered
Welcome from northeastern Pennsylvania.

Thanks for being a Soldier.

Before jumping into the "body work", you may want to check on prices of the plastic and/or fiberglass pieces that you need. Most of them are expensive. Most of the mechanical parts aren't bad and some can be obtained from other sources.

Registered
Discussion Starter #3
I have been doing some research, seems I can rebuild most of the tractor for under a grand. Tires are good, no drive train issues that I know, but a carb overhaul may be in it's future. I will run a compression test to see about the lower end. The kids love the thing too. Seems a waste to sell it because it wasn't taken care of... and one thing I have is time :)

Registered
Good morning Ladies and Gentlemen,