Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone, I’m hoping to gain some insight and wisdom from the users here; I have a few questions.

Please bare with me; I know I’m seriously unversed when it comes to tractors.
( I’ve only had 3 years experience with operating a CAT 216B skid-steer. )

1. Can anyone tell me which, if any backhoe attachments are available for the 5 series? If so, are they operable from inside the cab?

2. I’m wanting to do a significant amount of landscape work along with stable bedding, veg / row crop, some small square bales, I must note the landscape work on ground that ranges from clay to a reddish soil type, and typical lawned/flower bed garden soil too.

I’ve estimated ideal lifting capacity with the loader to be up to 800kg per load to maximise efficiency of handling the stable bedding materials and or any other materials.

Is grading and levelling clay and similar hard ground going to be too strenuous on the typical loaders as supposed to a TLB/backhoe loader?

What would be the advisable HP for this range of work , I’m also trying to work out the appropriate considerations regarding the PTO.
I see the 540e pto option would reduce fuel costs. But how does one determine the appropriate mower, tiller, wood splitter/chipper etc.

Oh I guess I should include, context is a 10acre coastal small holding with a lot of the land on a incline of up to 30° in some areas. Im thinking a flex-wing mowers might be appropriate?

Thanks in advance!

·
Premium Member
8,021 Posts
Hi Everyone, I’m hoping to gain some insight and wisdom from the users here; I have a few questions.

Please bare with me; I know I’m seriously unversed when it comes to tractors.
( I’ve only had 3 years experience with operating a CAT 216B skid-steer. )

1. Can anyone tell me which, if any backhoe attachments are available for the 5 series? If so, are they operable from inside the cab?