Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
536 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I will be working with the 1025r close to some tree and limb cutting that are in peoples yards.

I have been cutting trees for more than 50 years (weekend lumber jack :laugh: ) and I know what the risks are.

Question: I would like to add a protective cage in case a branch falls my way. Maybe connect to the roll bar. Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance

·
Premium Member
5,561 Posts
People have made branch lifters which are basically bars that run at an angle to the front connecting to a brush guard or something else.

Someone will have a photo as I have seen them on here before. However I would be nowhere near any cutting activity. No way to protect from all the possibilities.

·
Registered
9,431 Posts
If the overhead hazard is active tree work you need to look at local safety laws even if your not getting paid. A tree service would lose its license immediately here if they allow anyone under an overhead hazard that isn’t absolutely required as part of the overhead work. Even the tree crew itself can’t work underneath unless there are no other options.

·
Premium Member
12,286 Posts
A few sections of box tubing, some screening and a welder and you can be in business.

Attachments

·
Administrator
18,008 Posts
If you search for the term "FOPS" (Falling Object Protective Structure) on here and Google you'll get some ideas.

·
Premium Member
3,870 Posts
A few sections of box tubing, some screening and a welder and you can be in business.
I like that cab easy to convert for winter use closing it in. I made my own so it could be removed easy and just break the weather. My heater will keep it nice when plowing snow. Mine won't hold up falling trees but the Lexan and Kydex being as light as it is still supper strong for sharp sticks and such of branches. Just put my "add on" Lexan Lower Wind Breaks near the seat and rear window with wiper also on for winter. 100_1698.JPG

·