Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, this is my first time posting here. I have a D125 riding mower with only about 70 hours on it. Won't turn right, sector plate pops, but will turn left just fine. I'm just not sure if a worn sector plate and/or pinion gear is the culprit. When I turn left, the sector plate seems to ride up the pinion gear and get a good bite. When I put the wheel to the right, the opposite happens, seems like the sector plate drops down the pinion and loses good bite. There's a whole lot of untouched pinion length as well that I wish I could put to use. I'm wondering if the geometry/setup of the whole system is correct, before I send it in for service. I don't have the means to fix myself. Below is a quick 30 second video of how the sector plate behaves when turning left vs. right while stopped.

If the answer is take it in for new pinion/plate, fine so be it, I just want to make sure I'm not missing something more obvious and/or inexpensive.

JAJ

·
Premium Member
12,640 Posts
Welcome. The video is very helpful. It doesn't seem like the sector plate should have that much up-down play. Is it possible the retaining bolt/nut is loose? I've highlighted the suspect bolt/nut below. I would also check bolt #22.

Attachments

Reactions: jjoyce1

·
Super Moderator
5,192 Posts
I have a D160. Slightly different machine but same steering setup.

Just went out and looked and while my plate has some up/down movement, it isn't anywhere near as much as you have. The wear line on my pinion gear is very distinct line about 1/8" wide and about 1/2" up the pinion gear from the bottom. My plate moves maybe 1/4" up and down.

I'd check bolt #23 (and the associated nut) in the diagram jgayman posted. If that's loose it will allow your plate to toggle up/down as your's is doing. (Bolt #22 only serves as a guide)

·
Registered
1,764 Posts
Replace steering sector plate, pinion gear and 23,24,25. That should cure it.