Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
231 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

Got my first tractor in June and loved using it all summer.

Been thinking I need a rear blade but then I thought why not a rake and then I heard about box blade..GURRRRRRRR!

This form has been so helpful I thought I would ask your advice.

I have about 2 ac and will be leveling some of next summer so that is why I thought about the rake or blade. Not sure what the advantages are for one or the other and I don't know anything about a box blade.

If you have time comments and suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

·
Registered
56 Posts
I had the same dilemma but the more I research I did the more I leaned towards a box blade. Actually picking up my box blade BB5048L tomorrow. For me this will be the best tool to work and level my areas.

I am no expert but I would think this would be the best for you also. The rake from what I have read is good for finish but you can’t dig in with scarifiers like a box blade and level high spots. And a box blade does better at spreading material level holding it in the box.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Reactions: USAFRet

·
Registered
141 Posts
A rake won't get you anywhere when it comes to leveling. Only if the soils is really worked up would a rake have much impact. A box blade is great tool - one of which main jobs is leveling. There are a ton of great videos on youtube showing how handy a box blade can be. EverythingAttachments has one of my favorites: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LxuEDGSGOZA&t=416s

Reactions: PJR832

·
Registered
700 Posts
My primary use for my incoming box blade is going to be scraping back snow from tight areas.

·
Registered
675 Posts