Green Tractor Talk banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy folks, this is my first time posting. I have a couple of questions, the first is easy, a fellow down the road has a 850 in good shape, 1600 hours on it(just used at his cabin up north, sold the cabin) 5' finish mower on the back, 2 wheel drive, he wants $3000 for it, is it worth that or not? The next question is somewhat more difficult, I own a 2003 4310 with a 430 loader, just bought a 3pt. log splitter, hooked it up to the loader connections(first two, yellow and green I believe) I don't want to incur the cost of a "power beyond" block, it seems to work fine, I've split ten fedral cords with it so far. The question is, will this hurt anything? Another question if I could, I have read the manual many times and cannot understand how to use the Dual selective control valve or for that matter what exactly does it do? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for any help in advance.

Larry

·
Administrator
22,927 Posts
:wgtt:

I am on limited access, so my reply may seem brief-I can elaborate more later.

-For values, take a look at machinefinder.com or tractorhouse.com.
-Hooking the splitter up that way is fine, no worries there. There is a 3rd SCV kit available for your machine that you be be interested in as they are getting harder to find.
-The DSVC is nothing more than the valve you use to control the FEL, what the joystick is connected to. It stands for Double/Dual Selective or Service Valve.

·
Administrator
22,927 Posts
FEL=Front End Loader
DSCV=Double/Dual Selective or Service Control Valve
SCV=Selective/Service Control Valve. John Deere's fancy name for a hydraulic valve.

Your loader needs two hydraulic valves to control it, one for the lift/lower function and one for the dumb/curl function. They are connected together via the joystick rather than having two separate levers. That is your DSCV.