Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My home sits on 5 acres of old pasture land/hay field. About 1-11/2 acres are lawn, the rest is 2-3 foot high weeds. The soil is very rocky, but level. I mow with a JD 150, but, it is to small for the rest. I would like to run a brush hog, box grader, mow grass and break ground for a garden. I would also like a FEL, and the ability to add a back hoe.I am looking at a 1025R, but, I am not sure if it is big enough. I have read post about the 1025R, not being high enough to run a post hole auger, which could be a problem.The 2 series is nice, but, cost more and may be more then I need. I have never run a tractor before, other then a lawn tractor(mower).Any suggestions?:question::question:

·
GTT's Pilot in Command (PIC)
8,558 Posts
:gtfam:

I'm sorry, but I have no knowledge about the abilities of the tractors you are asking about. But a lot of good family members here will help, I'm sure!

Reactions: Gizmo2

·
Administrator
20,917 Posts
Welcome to GTT!

Have you driven any of these tractors or talked to the dealer? What did they recommend?

I've had a 1 series. I now own a 2 series and I'm on 2 acres. That being said I take care of 4 plus multiple neighborhood driveways and other chores. I found the 1 series to a really comfortable and capable tractor, but it fell short in a couple of categories for me. I needed/wanted more loader capacity and speed. Larger tires offered a much better ride and traction along with better hillside stability. The 2 series doesn't have some of the fancy features the 1 series does, but in the end the only feature I really missed was the suspension seat.