Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Newbie here just want some insight to the advantages and dis-advantages of electric vs. hrydulic used for the chute movement on a snow blower. This is going to a purchase over the summer so I'm trying to enlighten myself on this. I see that almost all manufacturers offer both type of set ups. I would think that the electric would be slow compared to the Hyd set up. All opinions are welcomed and encouraged .

Leaning to a rear mounted unit so I can keep the blade on or go back to the FEL.

·
Administrator
18,320 Posts
:wgtt:

-Electric is often easier for the average do-it-yourself'er, most feel intimidated plumbing and working with hydraulics.
-Hydraulics are a lot more money since buying some switches and wire is much cheaper than hoses, valves, motors and cylinders.
-Some electric setups are slower, like those with linear actuators, but some use window or other gear motors that can be reasonably fast.

·
Administrator
20,896 Posts
I don't own a snow blower, so I can't advise from experience. But electric would be considerably cheaper. Several members have done this to their blowers.

I changed your title so people can do future searches much easier. I hope you don't mind. :hi:

·
Registered
1,542 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I don't own a snow blower, so I can't advise from experience. But electric would be considerably cheaper. Several members have done this to their blowers.

I changed your title so people can do future searches much easier. I hope you don't mind. :hi:
Not at all. I did search on here about the subject matter but with no luck.

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #7

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Reactions: sterling40man

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
If cost wasn't the only factor between the two systems , what would you choose and why.

·
Premium Member
10,067 Posts