Green Tractor Talk banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am completely new to tractors guys, so go easy on me. I have a 2 part question.

I have a new 1025R with a 47" blower on the front. Here in Maine we had about 6 inches of snow followed by 40 degrees and rain.. which made a perfect recipe for hard slush. Soupy, wet snow. My blower kept clogging and mostly I was pushing the snow around like a plow instead of actually blowing it. I realize it was very heavy and watery but, any tips on successfully getting the blower to work better with wet snow? I am surprised that the blower did not come with a cleaning tool as well.

Secondly, I think I am having my dealer install chains on the tires when they come to pick it up nest week to install the cab. My 00ft gravel driveway with a circular turn around on the end is very large and is also very icy. I was sliding, slipping and getting stuck a lot on declines. in Any suggestions or tips regarding tire chains?

·
Premium Member
129 Posts
I think I can honestly say ...... nothing is going to move soupy, wet snow. The trick is to blow it before the rain or warmth gets to it. Had the same situation here in Mass yesterday, cept we only had about 2" .. then the rain and warmth hit. I pushed a little with the shovel and prayed the rain and warmth would take care of the rest.

·
Registered
209 Posts
With the soup we got, blowers of any kind were less than effective. Not sure there is anything you can do with that kind of snow and a blower other than attaching a blade to the back and using that.

In terms of sliding - ballast is huge. Fill the tires, add wheel weights, add ballast box or weight rack. AND add chains. I have my large self, 250lbs of wheel weights, 175 lbs of tire fill, and 320lbs of suitcase weights. Makes a huge difference. So over 1000 pounds on rear . . . all of it needed to get up and down my hill.

·
Premium Member
17,271 Posts