Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am fairly new to working on old tractors and need some help.
I have a 620 that has been sitting indoors for 25 years but the motor is stuck.
For a couple of weeks I have been squirting the sparkplug hole with PB blaster.
I have been trying to move the flywheel back and forth with a bar I made that goes in the casting holes.
No movement so I have been taking parts off, I tried to take the head off this weekend.
I had 4 full studs come out pretty easily, the other 3 studs are still in the head but the nuts came off easily.
The head is really stuck to the block. I tried to put small bottle jacks between the block and the head.
I tried gently beating on it with a soft hammer. None of this worked either. Any ideas?
I was thinking the three remaining bolts are hanging me up and maybe I need to heat them up with a torch.
Also I see some people fill the spark plug hole with penetrating oil, maybe that is something that I should do,
it makes sense that the fluid isn't getting completely around the cylinder.
Any help would be much appreciated.

FYI the oil was black but looked good, not cloudy. The antifreeze looked good too, just a little rusty, still had some green in it.

·
Registered
311 Posts
My B John Deere was stuck and I filled the cylinders with diesel fuel and left it for about a month. Then I used a bar to bump forward and back on the flywheel and was able to get it to break loose. It had been sitting for over 30 years in a quanset.

Best of luck to you.

·
Administrator
20,282 Posts
Filling the cylinders with some sort of light oil like diesel fuel is a good bet. A little acetone mixed in will allow it to migrate a little further. Patience is key here. :good2:

·
Registered
3,687 Posts
If one of the cylinders has the valves closed,,,
put a grease fitting in the spark plug hole with adapter fittings.

Pump in grease with a grease gun,